PowerCLI New-VM or Set-VM: Could not load file or assembly ‘CryptoSupport.dll’ or one of its dependencies


I was trying to clone some VMs and apply an os config to it without any luck. I kept getting this error about CryptoSupport.dll and google wasnt helping me much.

After much digging I found that the CryptoSupport.dll is 32bit only and my ISE running in x64 wasnt too happy about loading it.

 

So, load 32 bit powershell.

 

Error looked something like this:

Could not load file or assembly ‘CryptoSupport.dll’ or one of its dependencies.  is not a valid Win32 application. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800700C1)

About jrich

I am the Solutions Architect for Apex Learning in Seattle WA. I've been working with computers since I was 13. Started programming when I was 14. Had my first IT job as tech support at an ISP at the age of 15 and became a network admin at the age of 17. Since then I've worked at a variety of small to mid size companies supporting, maintaining and developing all aspects of IT. Mostly working with Windows based networks but have recently been working with Solaris system as well. I created this blog mostly as a place for me to take my own notes, but also share things that I had a hard time finding the info for.

Posted on September 20, 2012, in WMF (Powershell/WinRM) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

    • I tried a reinstall. found a vmware post some place that stated that there was no 64bit option for it, if you run powercli on your box it looks for the 32bit version. I always embed these things in to my main profile so that I can have one console to do all work. Just need to be aware and load the 32bit version when im doing os configs.

Leave a Reply

